Originally posted on The Open Mouse:

Honeymoon in Govan

My Granny honeymooned
in a single-end
in Govan.

She recalls this like yesterday,
Blue eyes twinkling,
Wet with remembrance.

A husband she has mourned
longer than lived.

She wore a knee length dress,
Silk fabric, of tiny proportions
that she passed down to me.

She told me they spent all
their money
on a photographer.

They walked to Govan
from Pollockshaws
hand in hand.

She said,
they wur the best two days ai ma life.

We smile,
our eyes simultaneously drawn
to the picture
of the happy couple,
at the side of her bed.

Copyright © Nicola Burkhill 2013

I live in a beautiful Scottish conservation village with my husband and two sons and decided to return to writing after a serious illness. I hold a BA (Hons) in English Lit/Creative Writing and write poetry, short stories and a wee blog. I attend a weekly writing group…

View original 16 more words

